Miami DUI Lawyer
Effective Defense for DUI Charges
If you have been charged with driving under the influence in Miami, you must understand the serious nature of your situation. You may be charged with a DUI if you are found to have a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher when a police officer pulls you over and administrates a breathalyzer test or field sobriety test. The state of Florida prosecutes DUI offenders to the full extent of the law, and you need a strong defense to avoid serious penalties such as jail time and costly fines.
After you have been charged with a DUI, you will face both a civil and a court hearing. You only have 10 days to request the civil DHSMV Hearing or your driver's license will automatically be suspended for at least six months. If you have been charged with
multiple DUIs or a
felony DUI, this time period may be significantly increased. It is wise to consult a Miami-Dade DUI lawyer immediately after you have been arrested for DUI so that you have the time to prepare a strong defense case to fight this automatic license suspension.
DUI-Related Offenses in Miami-Dade
If you already have a drunk driving violation on your record, the penalties for a second or subsequent violation will be even more severe.
In the state of Florida, if you are arrested and charged with a DUI you will have to attend a hearing at the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV). At this hearing, you can challenge the evidence that got you arrested so that you can get your license back.
Also commonly referred to as a breath machine, an officer may ask you to blow into one of these in order to test your blood alcohol content. These tests can produce false results.
If the accident that you were involved in caused the death of another (whether in a vehicle or a pedestrian) you will be facing this felony charge.
Felony DUI is the charge that you will be facing if you seriously injure/kill someone in the accident you were involved in or if this was a subsequent charge.
Rather than an intent to kill, this charge is given to those whose drunk driving resulted in the death of another.
Call Parks & Braxton, PA to fight your charges now!
After your Administrative Hearing, you will be required to attend a courtroom hearing where a judge will determine the specific criminal penalties you will be liable for. Even a first time DUI conviction in Florida can result in fines ranging from $500 to $1,000. Having an experienced legal advocate by your side is your best chance at avoiding conviction and the shame that comes from a DUI conviction. This is especially true if you have been charged with leaving the scene or DUI manslaughter.
At Parks & Braxton, PA, we have extensive experience handling all kinds of DUI cases and we have earned a national reputation for our success in defending people charged with a Florida DUI. Our partners have handled and won countless driver's license hearings in which people accused of DUIs were able to avoid license suspension. They've also taught hundreds of attorneys in Florida on the art of winning a DUI case.
In addition to this experience, our partners bring years of DUI trial experience to our legal team at Parks & Braxton, PA. They have served as lead counsel in thousands of DUI cases, and have tried over 100 cases and argued countless motions to dismiss. They also teaches seminars around the state on various DUI topics. With our high level of knowledge and experience, we are confident that you will benefit from our helpful legal counsel and we are excited about serving you.
Click Here to View Our Miami DUI Website
View the firm's profile at FindaDUIAttorney.com.