Facing Hit & Run Charges?
Find Legal Support from a Miami Car Accident Attorney
According to recent statistics, approximately 100,000 people are injured by hit and run drivers each year, and approximately 1,400 people are killed by drivers in hit and run accidents. It is estimated that one out of every 5 pedestrians killed on the road die from a hit and run and 18% of the total hit and run fatalities are pedestrians. These accidents are defined under the law as the act of hitting or striking a motorist, pedestrian, bicyclist, or another vehicle and then fleeing the scene of the accident without taking the proper safety measures or identifying oneself.
If you are facing hit and run charges, call Parks & Braxton, PA to speak with our experienced attorneys!
Hit & Run Laws
According to Florida Statute 316.062, it is the duty of a driver to give information and to render aid if they have been involved in a crash resulting in injury or to death of any person or damage to any vehicle or other property. The information that must be given includes your name, address, registration numbers of the vehicle driven, and even your driver's license information.
You are also under obligation by law to render to any person injured in the crash reasonable assistance. This includes the carrying or making arrangements for any injured persons to be taken to a hospital or medical professional for treatment, if necessary.
If the other party involved in your accident was not at the scene of the accident when it occurred, such as if you hit a parked car, you must leave a note on that individual's car with your contact information and then file a police report. From there, it would be wise to contact Miami criminal defense lawyer who can defend your rights.
Penalties for Hit and Run in Florida
The penalties for a hit and run accident vary depending on the circumstances involved with the accident. The penalties can also depend on whether or not there was property damage, bodily injury, death, or any combination of those possible offenses.
For example, the penalties for a property damage hit and run may include:
- Misdemeanor charge
- Up to 60 days in jail
- Up to 6 months of probation
- Fine up to $500
The penalties increase for any accidents that caused injury to other individuals. These are punishable as Level 5 offenses under Florida sentencing guidelines.
These are the possible penalties for hit and runs involving bodily injury:
- Third degree felony offense
- Imprisonment up to 5 years
- 5 years of probation
- Fine up to $5, 000
The most serious hit and run charge that a Florida driver can be accused of is leaving the scene of an accident that causes death. Because of this, it is considered a highly severe first degree felony crime, and is punishable as a Level 7 offense under Florida law,
These are the possible penalties for hit and runs involving death:
- 21 months to 15 years imprisonment
- 15 years of probation
- Fine up to $10, 000
If you have been accused of any of these hit and run crimes, then you must realize the impact that a conviction will have on your future. Being accused of any crime is a stressful and confusing time, and so you will need our legal team to give you answers and support you through every possible challenge that may come your way. Do not hesitate to give us a call today!
Delivering Tough Defense
Here at Parks & Braxton, PA, we have years of experience defending the rights of drivers who are accused of hit and run, DUI, and many other traffic offenses. We have developed numerous defense strategies that are effective in defending the rights of drivers in these situations, and we are prepared to help you today. With 40 years of legal representation under our belt, you can rely on our seasoned team to protect you from facing the penalties of hit and run charges.
Call now to schedule a free case evaluation with one of our Miami car accident lawyers!