Miami Multiple DUI Attorney
Are you facing your second or third DUI?
Being charged with a
DUI in the state of Florida is a serious matter in and of itself. But when
a person is accused of a second or third DUI within a ten year period,
the situation reaches a whole new level of intensity. Florida legislature
has established mandatory minimum penalties for individuals who are convicted
of multiple DUI charges within a certain time frame, and these penalties
can have a devastating effect on an individual's life.
For example, if you have a second DUI conviction that occurs within five
years of a prior conviction, you will automatically spend a minimum of
ten days in jail, suffer a five-year driver’s license suspension,
pay a $2,000 fine and be forced to install an ignition interlock device.
If this is your third DUI conviction within ten years of the first two
DUIs, these mandatory penalties will be raised to 30 days in jail, a ten
year driver’s license revocation, and a two-year ignition interlock
device. Below are the exact penalties for second, third, fourth and subsequent
drunk driving offenses:
Second DUI: If it has been more than five years since your first conviction, then you
will face a 180 day to one year license revocation. If the second offense
was within five years since your first, then you will face a minimum five
year revocation of your license. After one year of revocation, you may
apply for a hardship license.
Third DUI: If the third DUI is more than ten years after the second, then you will
have your license suspended for 180 days to one year. If the last two
convictions were within five years of each other, then there will be a
five year revocation. You will not be eligible for a hardship license.
If the offense is within ten years of the second, then there will be a
ten year revocation period. You must wait two years before applying for
a hardship license. To petition for a hardship license, you need to complete
DUI school and pay a fee.
Fourth or Subsequent DUI: You will not be eligible for a hardship reinstatement until ten years of
revocation has been completed. You must comply with DUI school standards
and treatment. You will need to take an examination and pay a fee before
your license can be reinstated.
Avoid prison, fines & other consequences!
Multiple DUI charges can result in life-changing penalties, and you should
never try to face charges of this nature alone. Without the help of an
attorney, you will be left helpless against a tough prosecutor who wants
nothing more than to see you suffer the maximum penalties available under
the law. If you are convicted of a 'third-within-ten' or a fourth
DUI, you will likely face time in state prison in addition to penalties
such as extensive license revocations, vehicle immobilization, huge fines,
an ignition interlock device, and lengthy probationary periods.
Talk to an experienced Miami DUI lawyer at Parks & Braxton, PA today
about your multiple DUI charges. No situation is hopeless, and our firm
the capability to handle even the most challenging of cases. With over
38 years of combined legal experience, our team can look into your case
and start constructing your defense from the moment you call. We have
already handled thousands of cases successfully, and we want to help you next!